10 categories of insurance coverage required by health reform

Essential Health Benefits are a set of health care services that are required by the Affordable Care Act to be covered by certain health plans beginning in 2014.

All non-grandfathered individual and small employer plans offered both off and on public online exchanges must include Essential Health Benefits coverage beginning in 2014. All Medicaid state insurance plans are also required to cover Essential Health Benefits in 2014.

SOURCE: America’s Health Insurance Plans

Insurers selling those plans are required to provide coverage in each of the 10 categories, with specific services for 2014 and 2015 defined in North Dakota by the Essential Health Benefits benchmark plan:

  • Outpatient care (care received that doesn’t require being admitted to a hospital)
  • Hospital stays (also referred to as inpatient care)
  • Emergency care
  • Maternity and newborn care
  • Preventive and wellness services
  • Physical therapy
  • Prescription drug coverage
  • Laboratory services
  • Dental and vision care for children.

To learn more, visit our health care reform site at ItStartsWithBlueND.com.

Ryan Schuster is an editor in the Communications department at Blue Cross Blue Shield of North Dakota.

Profile photo of bcbsnd

About bcbsnd

Blue Cross Blue Shield of North Dakota. Share your BOLD ideas, questions, and insights with us here and at http://www.ndhealthcareforums.com or visit our blog at www.bcbsnd.com/blueinsight/
This entry was posted in Health care reform and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>